Staedtler Foundation honors Audiolabs PhD

07.11.2017 Link

Since 1999, the Staedtler Foundation has been honoring young scientists from the Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU) for their outstanding dissertations. Each year, ten doctoral candidates are awarded with prize money of 3,500 Euro each. One of the honorees this year was Dr. Jonathan Driedger from the International Audio Laboratories Erlangen for his dissertation titled "Verarbeitung von Musiksignalen unter Verwendung von Zerlegungstechniken für Audiodaten" (Processing of music signals using audio data decomposition techniques). The highly endowed doctoral prizes were presented in a festive setting on October 19, 2017 in Nuremberg. In his opening address, the Chairman of the Staedtler Foundation, Mr. Wilhelm R. Wessels, warmly welcomed the nominated doctoral candidates as well as the guests from politics and business. Prof. Dr. Friedrich Paulsen, FAU Vice President for Teaching and Learning, and Prof. Dr. Michael Braun, President of the Technische Hochschule Nürnberg Georg Simon Ohm, gave a welcome address in honor of the doctoral students. The recipients of this award are proposed by their respective faculty. The Staedtler Foundation honors outstanding university achievements of all departments. For example, doctoral theses in the disciplines of chemistry, medicine, philosophy, law, technology, theology or economics have been awarded in the past eighteen years. Further Information can be found at the websites of FAU and Staedtler.

Honored by the Staedtler Foundation [from left to right]: Dr. Jens Burkhard Funk, Dr. Matthias Braun, Dr. Franziska Engelhard, Dr. Thomas Heumüller, Dr. Tanja Potschies, Dr. Volker Strauß, Dr. Nina Müller, Dr. Jonathan Driedger, Dr. Nicole Wiedenmann, Hr. Wilhelm R. Wessels [Chairman of the Staedtler Foundation]. Copyright by Uwe Niklas.