The International Audio Laboratories Erlangen (AudioLabs®) research center, founded in 2008, is unique worldwide in both its mission and international approach: A team of globally-renowned scientists is working to shape the future of audio and multimedia technologies in research areas such as audio coding, audio signal analysis and perceptual spatial audio signal processing.

AudioLabs is a joint institution of Fraunhofer IIS and Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU). The University provides six professorship positions to the research center and guarantees the scientific integration into the academic environment. Fraunhofer IIS provided a budget to fund AudioLabs for an initial period of ten years. AudioLabs benefits from Fraunhofer IIS' extensive history and expertise in the field of audio and multimedia technologies. The close cooperation of both partners allows for a unique organization with competencies ranging from basic research and teaching to technology implementation in innovative multimedia systems.

AudioLabs is located on the premises of Fraunhofer IIS. Being in the vicinity of both the University and the Audio & Multimedia division of Fraunhofer IIS, this location enables close scientific collaboration in an ideal way. In addition, it allows for use of the modern infrastructure of Fraunhofer IIS including acoustics labs, recording studios or digital cinema labs.


AudioLabs® Board

Prof. Dr. Albert Heuberger (Speaker)


Albert Heuberger received his Dipl.-Ing. degree in electrical engineering from Erlangen University before joining Fraunhofer IIS as research associate in the area Radio Frequency in 1987. He became head of the Communications department and was in charge of research on Localization and Communication. Receiving his doctorate in Erlangen in 2005 he was appointed university professor in 2008 at the Ilmenau University of Technology for the research area Wireless Distribution Systems / Digital Broadcasting. On October 1, 2011, Albert Heuberger was named Executive Director of Fraunhofer IIS, which ranks first among the Fraunhofer Institutes concerning headcount and revenues. As the main inventor of mp3 and universally credited with the co-development of the AAC audio coding standard, Fraunhofer IIS has reached worldwide recognition. It provides research services on a contract basis and technology licensing.

Dr. Bernhard Grill (Representative Fraunhofer IIS)


Bernhard Grill studied Electrical Engineering at the Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nuremberg. From 1988 till 1999 he engaged in the development and implementation of audio coding algorithms at the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS in Erlangen. In 1992 he received, together with Jürgen Herre and Ernst Eberlein, the »Joseph-von-Fraunhofer Award« for his contributions to the mp3 technology. Since 2000 Bernhard Grill has been heading the Audio department at Fraunhofer IIS. Together with Harald Popp, he is responsible for the successful development and commercial application of new audio coding algorithms and associated technologies. In 2000, Bernhard Grill, Karlheinz Brandenburg and Harald Popp, as representatives of the larger team at Fraunhofer IIS, were honored with the »Deutscher Zukunftspreis« as the inventors of mp3.

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Herre (Representative FAU)


Jürgen Herre studied Electrical Engineering at the Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nuremberg. In 1989 he started his research career at the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS, where he was and still is responsible for the development of audio coding algorithms like MPEG Layer-3 (mp3) and its numerous successors. In 1992 he received, together with Bernhard Grill and Ernst Eberlein, the »Joseph-von-Fraunhofer Award« for his contributions to the mp3 technology. In 1995 he obtained his PhD degree and joined Bell Laboratories for a PostDoc term working on MPEG-2 Advanced Audio Coding. Since 2000 he has been the chief scientist for audio and multimedia at Fraunhofer IIS, heading the development activities on MPEG-4 und MPEG-7 Audio, mp3 Surround, MPEG Surround and other innovations. In September 2010 he joined the international Audio Laboratories Erlangen as a professor in "Audio Coding".