Jürgen Herre honored with IEEE Industrial Innovation Award


The IEEE Signal Processing Society awarded its Industrial Innovation Award 2020 to Karlheinz Brandenburg, Jürgen Herre and James D. Johnston, for contributions to the standardization of audio coding technology. The award ceremony took place during an online event on June 11th, 2021.

In the early 90s Brandenburg, Herre and Johnston contributed significantly to the development of perceptual coding algorithms for high quality audio. Their fundamental research led to the development of the mp3 as well as the following AAC audio coding algorithms, which have become the de-facto standards for digital music.

The Industrial Innovation Award honors a person who contributes to major industrial accomplishments, standards, deployment of important processes or products, etc, that are of substantial benefit to the public in the field of communications and information technologies and visible beyond the company or institution where the contribution was made.

Jürgen Herre was appointed as a Professor with the University of Erlangen-Nürnberg and the International Audio Laboratories Erlangen in 2010. Before that he joined the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS, in 1989. Since, he has been involved in the development of many perceptual coding algorithms for high quality audio. He is a fellow of the Audio Engineering Society, the Co-Chair of the AES Technical Committee on Coding of Audio Signals, and the Vice Chair of the AES Technical Council. He served as a member of the IEEE Technical Committee on Audio and Acoustic Signal Processing as an Associate Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Speech and Audio Processing and is an Active Member of the MPEG audio group.

2020 IEEE Signal Processing Society Industrial Innovation Award.